First Light

first lightGood Morning Brothers…

“That has got to be the biggest buck I’ve ever seen”, I thought to myself. Squinting against a north wind, in the predawn darkness, my eyes were convinced that the wallhanger of all wallhangers was feeding only 30 yards away. My pulse quickened, my hands squeezed into fists, and my toes wriggled back and forth in my boots. My senses strained against the darkness, “Wait…I swear he just moved his head!” This thought exploded with validation across the still doubting sensory ports of my brain, “Again…he just moved again! See,” one side of my brain baited to the other side of my brain,”I told you that was a deer.” Gently reaching for my bow, moving with perfect stillness (moving with perfect stillness is a Ninja term), I carefully lift my bow off of it’s hanger and clip my release onto the string. My sight pins are still dark and I decide to wait as the Eastern horizon begins to color. “I’m not sure what that big buck is eating over there, but he sure likes it, he hasn’t moved much for at least 30 minutes now”, I thought to myself. Slowly the Eastern sky brightens, my sight pins begin to glow but I no longer notice them. I’m too busy listening to one side of my brain laughing at the other side of my brain, “There’s your BIG BUCK (HaHa)…more like a big plum thicket (HaHa)…do you still want to put that on the wall (HaHa)?”

My view of the hunt area sure changes with first light.

Is it any wonder that the Bible often refers to God inside of us as a light? We often think about this in terms of shining, for instance ‘let your light shine’ and ‘walk in the light’ are common descriptions for Christian living. Passages like Matthew 5:14-16, “You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden; nor does anyone light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.”    and 1 John 1:5-7, “This is the message we have heard from Him and announce to you, that God is Light, and in Him there is no darkness at all. If we say that we have fellowship with Him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth; but if we walk in the Light as He Himself is in the Light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus His Son cleanses us from all sin.”    convey the ‘let your light’ and the ‘walk in the light’ messages very well.

But think about the time you really got lit up by the Holy Spirit. The time when your perspective changed, the time when the walls around your heart toppled, the time when your path seemed clear and the pitfalls easily discernible, the time when you were transfigured by the Holy Light of Heaven. Can you remember it…? Good…did you do that or did God do that to you? Did the light just illuminate you or did it render you transparent…? Let me ask the same question this way, did the Light only reflect…or did it select…? You see…Scripture says in John 1: 9-10, “There was the true Light which, coming into the world, enlightens every man. He was in the world, and the world was made through Him, and the world did not know Him.”  

It’s easy for us to take this passage and assign “values” to the different phrases; the “true Light” is Jesus (no arguments there); “coming into the world” means Mary, the manger, the 3 Kings, etc. (sounds about right); “enlightens every man” means only the saved men and women (um…OK?); “He was in the world” means He was here before He came (??); “the world was made through Him” means Jesus was part of Creation and “the world did not know Him” means the people Jesus helped create rejected His help, His influence, and His attempts to draw us to Him (OK…maybe this passage is a little deeper than I thought).

Jesus is indeed the true Light and the world was made through Him. When we become “enlightened” by the true Light…it is more than reflection it is selection…it is a transfiguring which begins with transparency…it is light shining out of darkness…it is the final “Let there Be…” It is a continuance from the early days of Genesis. The text says in Genesis 1:3-5, “Then God said, ‘Let there be light’; and there was light. God saw that the light was good; and God separated the light from the darkness. God called the light day, and the darkness He called night. And there was evening and there was morning, one day.”  This light was the first light to be recorded in Genesis, not to be confused with the greater and lesser lights which were created later and represent the sun and the moon. This light separates from darkness and is bestowed the privilege of “First Light.”

When Jesus ascended to the right hand of God the Father, it was a continuance of “Let there Be…” Once again, light separated from darkness, God saw that the Light was good and welcomed His Son home. When we decide to follow Christ with all of our heart, soul, mind, and strength…it is light separating from darkness…it is good…it is a continuance of the creation story. For many of us, our views of the world drastically changed on that day.  The day when our collective senses were jolted into alertness at the rising Son’s artistic brush against the horizon, the day when the darkness inside of us was forced to split open and reveal a radiating transparent light that reflected it’s selection to all that would stand a gaze, the day when we lifted our faces to behold “First Light.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

