Gun Control (Part 2)

Good Morning Brothers…

It is opening day of Deer season in Kansas. The year is 2023. The deer populations have bounced back from the drought a decade ago and trophy bucks are numerous. I should also mention that the large deer numbers are a result of the Gun Control laws enacted a number of years ago. As I sit in my truck, in the predawn darkness, I press my thumb to the bio-metric scanner attached to my rifle. It measures my pulse, body temperature, and any chemical in-balances which may affect decision making. The scanner is connected, via wireless network, to the United Nations Arms Regulation Committee and subsequently connected to the firing pin of my rifle. If my “vital signs” are within acceptable ranges based on my recorded “base line vitals”…then my firing pin is operational, once the imbedded sensor detects the first light of the sun. The firing pin will be operational for a total of four hours, at which time it has been determined by International Wildlife Biologists, that deer movement has stopped.

I check the pocket of my DCAC (Digital Chameleon Adaptive Camouflage) coat for my hunting license, mental health card, drivers license, and United Nations Arms Operation permit. Once I am sure they are all there, I glance down at the digital screen of the tracking device found within the bio-metric scanner. This tracking devise will record and track my movements and time on stand. The tracking device is necessary to ensure “where” and “when” any lethal rounds were fired from my gun. Once the glowing green letters spelling the word, “TRACKING” appear on the screen…I am ready to hike in to my UN approved treestand.

The hike in to my stand was uneventful. I was snorted at by a couple of does but they don’t realize I’m a hunter. My DCAC suit not only changes my appearance based on my surroundings but scrubs my scent using a digital ozone processor and emits a soft scent of wet leaves and acorns. If the truth be known, I stumbled over a log and startled the does with the crack of dead wood. As I settled into my seat, I thought back on the long hours with the Psychologist to prove my mental health and the training courses at the UN gun range to prove my marksmanship. The countless hours were well worth it as I watched the sun paint the eastern horizon. The screen of the bio-metric scanner, containing the imbedded light sensor, finally emits the soft glow of the letters “ARMED”. I am now ready to hunt.

I can already see the smoke rising from the ears, the reddening skin around the neck and chin area, the emphatic gestures and statements, “That could happen! They could take all of our freedoms away and institute a system just like that. In fact, they will probably read this to get the idea!”

“Don’t worry brother, I’m sure THEY aren’t reading this. However, if all of that stuff did happen. Why would it bother you?”

“Dude, you can’t be serious. Why would it bother me…? They are taking away our freedoms, the 2nd Amendment gives us the right to bear arms…”

“Hold on…where in this futuristic scenario do you not have the right to bear arms?”

“But our freedoms are being taken away…”

“What freedoms?”

“You know…our freedoms, the government coming in to tell us what we can and can’t do. Putting regulations all over our lives is limiting our freedoms. Don’t you see that?”

“I don’t see the freedom to own a gun being taken away. I do see how much of a royal pain it would be to own one…but that isn’t a freedom rescinded. I see it more as additional methods used to tax and gather revenue.”

“Huh…what do you mean by that?”

“Well, I’m not sure who THEY are, but I suppose we can use that term for the sake of this conversation. THEY are not now, and have never been, interested in the preservation of lives for morality’s sake. THEY are interested in preservation of lives which brings in tax revenue and garners votes. THEY will display ‘righteous indignation’ at whatever the majority wants them too. THEIR past voting record is too great to ignore this reality. THEY will convince the population that divorce, homosexuality, consumerism, gluttony, and certain addictions are not only healthy solutions and lifestyles…but often time the American Way. Any logic THEY use to advocate against gun control or lobby for gun control is faulty logic. We shouldn’t get swept away in the debates and the conversations.”

“But…what can we do? I mean, as Christians, should we build some concrete bunkers and start hoarding food, should we buy all the firearms and ammo possible, should we invest in short wave radios and hand them out to our family?”

“What can we do about what? What is different for the Christian today that wasn’t true of the Christian in the 1st century? We both have a THEY. We both are persecuted for our faith. We both are commanded to seek the lost and bring them the message of the Gospel. We both…Ahh, I think I see the difference. The Christians in the 1st century actually trusted God. The Christians today seem to trust their guns, their bank accounts, their friends and family…actually, we seem to trust THEY. Maybe that is why we get so bent out of shape when THEY turn against us.”

“I don’t trust THEY, which is why I need my gun.”

Matthew 10: 28 says, “Do not fear those who kill the body but are unable to kill the soul; but rather fear Him who is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.”

In the 1st century and even today, many non believers were drawn to Christ because of the manner in which Christians died. There are many stories of Christians singing praises to God as they were tied to stakes to be burned, as they were martyred in every possible way. If your death glorified God in such a way…that another soul found redemption at the feet of Jesus…would you willingly go? Would you willingly submit to THEY…? Do not fear THEY…place your trust in the One able to deliver us to glory everafter. I don’t want to go through UN checks or mandated psychology sessions any more than you…but I’m not going to let the possibility of those things deter me from the tasks I’ve been called too. If you feel like these gun control debates are persecution…then count them as joy…and go spread the good news today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Gun Control (Part 2)

  1. jgilbert@venturemech.com says:

    Obviously there is a little bit of satire going on here (big surprise) so I won’t address all the possibilities which could transpire. As has already been demonstrated throughout history, sane and reasonable men cannot possibly understand nor fathom the possibilities when a politician starts thinking.
    As a Christian man witting Christian thoughts about the Christian heart, mind, soul and spirit, it’s not surprising you address that side of the issue. As well as being Christians however we are also Americans, Christians first and foremost but Americans as well. As Americans we are subject to our Government yet we are also called to defend our Constitution and those documents which established this great country. The Declaration of Independence states…
    “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain Unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”
    No matter what anyone says our country was founded on the principles founded in the bible and I believe solely by the hand of God and with his blessing. So when we read our Constitution, specifically the 2nd amendment it states unequivocally,
    “The right to bear arms shall not be infringed”
    Many have tried to twist the meaning of the second amendment but for the sane and reasonable man there is no mistaking what that means. Although I respect the decision of those who choose not to arm themselves I also believe they do so at their own peril. We are called to lay down our lives for Christ and Christ alone. That in no way tells us to be meek and indefensible. A man who cannot defend his family from the Evil which exist in the form of rapist, muggers, thieves, thugs and yes sometimes tyrannical governments chooses at some point to be a victim along with all those he is responsible for.
    If God relied solely on loving our enemies, Michael would not be the most destructive force ever created…he would be a Teddy bear with an endless supply of chocolates and Cappuccino’s to hand out the evil spirits and Satan himself.
    Evil exist and will continue to do so for as long as it takes for Jesus to return. If you think God and Jesus would be against guns you would be incorrect based solely on the word of God himself. The only way I reconcile this seemingly contradiction is by this belief. That God knowing the world was full of sin recognized the need to fight evil on both the physical plane as well as the spiritual.
    I know your blog today was part 2 of 3 so I will reserve further comments lest I steal your thunder in any way, for I could start quoting sqripture.
    Jerry G. from Texas

Leave a comment