Legacy (again…?)

me and boCall this an ‘Ode to Fathers:

I wanted to write a devotional which speaks of fatherhood. As I thought about ideas and read Scripture, my mind kept coming back to a piece I wrote a while back. For some of you this may be familiar, (published in “Treestand Devotionals”, section; Week Eight-Fall) for others it will be brand new. Enjoy…and Happy Fathers Day.

Good Morning Brothers….

Walking into the predawn darkness with my little man in tow…causes a knot to form in my chest. It isn’t a feeling of fear, or anxiety, or frustration, it is a feeling of “Dad.” Three simple letters which spell a simple word, which is usually the second word your children learn to say. However, it is a big word. To be “Dad”…is to be something we don’t quite understand. Our little ones look up to us completely confidant in our abilities to be all things “Dad” to them. They don’t worry about our strengths and weaknesses or our capabilities of providing for them. We are “Dad”…we always come through. Many years from now (hopefully), my sons will sit in treestands and think about their dad. They will remember how to read the wind…they will be able to discern the sounds of the forest…they will be able to determine distance on uneven ground…they will remember how to track and follow a blood trail. They will remember all of these things…what else will they remember about their dad? What other life lessons will have a life long impact…what kind of legacy will I leave behind?

1 Corinthians 3:10-15 says, “According to the grace of God which was given to me, like a wise master builder I laid a foundation, and another is building on it. But each man must be careful how he builds on it. For no man can lay a foundation other than the one which is laid, which is Jesus Christ. Now if any man builds on the foundation with gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, straw, each man’s work will become evident; for the day will show it because it is to be revealed with fire, and the fire itself will test the quality of each man’s work. If any man’s work which he has built on it remains, he will receive a reward. If any man’s work is burned up, he will suffer loss; but he himself will be saved, yet so as through fire.”

The good works I perform…or don’t perform…are laid on a foundation built by Christ Almighty, as if I am building the house of God. At the end of the age…my body of work…will be tested by holy fire…which will reveal the quality of the crafting. All of us are building on the same foundation…and we know that foundation is square, level, plumb, and true. We really are building the house of God. Our works…make up the walls and roof of this house. Our heart…makes up the contents and furnishings of this house. Our spirit…makes up the ambiance and feel of this house…the house of God. “Do you not know that you are a temple of God and that the Spirit of God dwells in you?”                    1 Corinthians 3:16

I am the temple…I am the temple of God. God Himself…dwells inside of me.

When I travel…He travels with me.              When I’m too busy…He convicts me.
When I stop…He turns toward me.                When I pray…He prays with me.
When I read…He reveals Himself to me.       When I turn away…He reaches out for me.
When I shut Him out…He calls to me.           When I repent…He embraces me.
When I cry out…He comforts me.                  When I’m confused…He teaches me.

Jesus whispers, “Yes. You are the temple of the MOST HIGH GOD. You are MY temple.”

At this point, I realize…I don’t have a legacy of my own to pass on. I have been entrusted with a continuing legacy…the legacy of Christ. I am a steward, or caretaker, of the legacy of Him. The responsibility of my stewardship is to pass on God’s revelation to me…to everybody. This obviously includes my boys sitting in treestands, after my passing into Glory.

In the Gospel of John, in chapter 17, Jesus prays to His Father, in what is known as “The High Priestly Prayer.” Jesus is praying for His disciples, since His “hour has come” and His betrayal and arrest are imminent. Jesus prays in verse 11, “Holy Father, keep them in Your name, the name which You have given Me, that they may be one even as We are.” I wonder if the disciples knew Jesus, the Son of God, was praying for their faith and perseverance? Over in verse 20-21, Jesus prays,  “I do not ask on behalf of these alone, but for those also who believe in Me through their word; that they may all be one; even as You, Father, are in Me and I in You, that they also may be in Us, so that the world may believe that You sent Me.”  Who is Jesus praying for? Jesus, the Son of God, right before He is arrested, tried, convicted, and executed…is praying for us. Wow…He is praying for me…and you…and all of us. His prayer is that we would all be “One.”

Jesus…the disciples…God the Father…you…me…all…One.

Three simple letters which spell a simple word. However, it is a big word. To be “One”…is to be something we don’t quite understand. Those new to the faith, look up to us completely confidant in our abilities to be all things “One” to them. They don’t worry about our strengths and weaknesses or our capabilities for providing for them.

We are “One”…we always come through.

That…is “The Legacy of Christ”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

