Full Scale

Good Morning Brothers…

OK…I confess. I have a dumb phone. My phone does not look like a mini TV or call down weather reports from the satellites above. I can’t check the football score or get on Facebook to see what somebody had for dinner or bought at Wal-Mart. My phone makes and receives calls and the occasional text message. Sometimes, not all the time, it receives pictures. I don’t know why this feature only works once in awhile but I assume it has to do with where the picture originated from. Getting pictures on my dumb phone is really annoying when they are pictures of deer. My “screen” doesn’t respond to fingers trying to ‘zoom in’ or ‘zoom out’, it only leaves smudges. Looking at a deer picture the size of a stamp is frustrating because I’m actually interested in the picture.

This past weekend I didn’t do any hunting because I attended a Men’s Encounter. If you haven’t been to a Men’s Encounter, this devotional will be harder to understand. However, that doesn’t mean you should stop reading and consider yourself filled. On the contrary, read on a get a little taste of God’s grace poured out last Saturday. There is a segment of the Encounter when all the men are singing together and praising God through song. There were about 180 of us singing and clapping when this song came on over the loud speakers:

“Here I Am To Worship”

Light of the world, You step down into darkness.
Opened my eyes let me see.
Beauty that made this heart adore you hope of a life spent with you.

[Chorus]
And here I am to worship,
Here I am to bow down,
Here I am to say that you’re my God,
You’re altogether lovely,
Altogether worthy,
Altogether wonderful to me.

King of all days,
Oh so highly exalted Glorious in heaven above.
Humbly you came to the earth you created.
All for love’s sake became poor.

[Chorus]
Here I am to worship,
Here I am to bow down,
Here I am to say that you’re my God,
You’re altogether lovely,
Altogether worthy,
Altogether wonderful to me.

I’ll never know how much it cost to see my sin upon that cross.
I’ll never know how much it cost to see my sin upon that cross.
And I’ll never know how much it cost to see my sin upon that cross.
No I’ll never know how much it cost to se my sin upon that cross.

[Chorus]
Here I am to worship,
Here I am to bow down,
Here I am to say that you’re my God,
You’re altogether lovely,
Altogether worthy,
Altogether wonderful to me.
So Here I am to worship,
Here I am to bow down,
Here I am to say that you’re my God,

(Feel free to keep that tune playing through your head as you read on.)

Some of us were closer to the screen, near the stage, and we got on our knees to sing and worship. We really had no idea what was happening behind us, only that the sound of 180 male voices singing was overpowering the sound system. After the first (CHORUS), someone grabbed me around the shoulders and yelled, “Look behind you!”  I did…and my eyes witnessed 180 men on their knees with their hands in the air singing and praising God. (I’m getting tears in my eyes right now just typing this out) It was beautiful…it was inspiring…it was surrender.

The next morning I was drinking a cup of coffee talking with one of the 180…his words brought a chill to my spine and provided a pinch of context to the night before. He quoted this scripture:

Romans 14:11

For it is written, “As I live, says the Lord, every knee shall bow to Me,
And every tongue shall give praise to God.”

I realized at that moment, I was a dumb phone. The picture I could see was a teaspoon of water compared to the ocean. As wonderful an inspiring as it was to witness the 180 on their knees, there will come a day when ALL mankind…past, present, and future will bow down and praise God. I tried to picture what that would look like, but all I could see was the 180. I don’t have the ability to see the glory of God in full scale. It reminds me of the passage in Exodus 33:18, “Then Moses said, “I pray You, show me Your glory!”  God answered him in verse 20, “You cannot see My face, for no man can see Me and live!”

I am content with witnessing the 180. I am content that God will give us a glimpse of His glory. I am content with being a dumb phone and making and receiving calls from heaven with text. “Thank you Lord for the occasional picture, even though it is not full scale, I thank you for the glimpse. May your name be praised…!!”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Full Scale

  1. Joe Kormanik says:

    Praise the Lord John,

    Ephesians 3: 20 & 21—Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen, I too can picture those 180 men praising God and the Lord receiving the praises and blessings, We are so fortunate to be a wonderful part of a great movement of God changing lives and seeing men go after God. He is wanting us to seek after Him, walk with Christ and redeem the lost. Thanks so much for your post and be encouraged that God wants to partner with us and move His Kingdom forward. The Lord’s prayer says Your kingdom come on Earth as it is in Heaven please meditate on that next time you are in your tree stand. God Bless you.

    Joe Kormanik

Leave a Reply

