Against the Wind

Good Morning Brothers…

We are going to shift directions for awhile. Hunting season (for me) is over, I am focused on many other things and frankly, I am feeling a little handcuffed by the hunting genre. Sometimes I feel like I’ve told every story, used every analogy, possible to link the genre of hunting to walking with the Lord. I know that isn’t true, but I still find the well more empty than full of late. However, what I do want to do is examine some poetic literature that affects our culture in the form of songs. These lyrics, at times, speak a great truth and become a window into the human condition. At other times, they communicate a great lie, in such a way, that our culture buys in as if it was a great truth. Please take a few moments and watch the video link:

“Against The Wind”

It seems like yesterday
But it was long ago
Janey was lovely, she was the queen of my nights
There in the darkness with the radio playing low
And the secrets that we shared
The mountains that we moved
Caught like a wildfire out of control
Till there was nothing left to burn and nothing left to prove

And I remember what she said to me
How she swore that it never would end
I remember how she held me oh so tight
Wish I didn’t know now what I didn’t know then

Against the wind
We were runnin’ against the wind
We were young and strong, we were runnin’
Against the wind

I can remember the passion of youth. I can remember the misguided headstrong spirit of rebellion as I ran down the roads of the world until I was a wildfire burning out of control. I can remember thinking that there was nothing left for me to prove. I had achieved the title I thought would complete me…but it didn’t…my eyes still stung from the wind in my face.

And the years rolled slowly past
And I found myself alone
Surrounded by strangers I thought were my friends
I found myself further and further from my home
And I guess I lost my way
There were oh so many roads
I was living to run and running to live
Never worried about paying or even how much I owed
Moving eight miles a minute for months at a time
Breaking all of the rules that would bend
I began to find myself searchin’
Searchin’ for shelter again and again
Against the wind
A little something against the wind
I found myself seeking shelter against the wind

As a young adult, I found myself surrounded by many friends…who were all as shallow as I was. The unspoken secret among us…we were all searching for shelter, for meaning, for explanation to the “Why” questions of human existence. We were all running to live and living to run…not conscious of the debt we were accruing. Our eyes looked for shelter, a place to take refuge against the storms that blew and blew. The shelter that we found was short lived and temporal, providing immediate comfort but in the end…further exposure.

Well those drifters days are past me now
I’ve got so much more to think about
Deadlines and commitments
What to leave in, what to leave out

Against the wind
I’m still runnin’ against the wind
I’m older now but still running
Against the wind
Well I’m older now and still running
Against the wind

By the grace of God, those drifter days are past me now. My life is filled with deadlines and commitments, decisions and responsibility, but I realize that if I live by the flesh…I still fight against the strong winds. The only shelter that provides eternal relief, not temporary relief, is Jesus Christ, the only Son of God. I realize that the winds against me back then, were the Spirit Winds of the Holy Spirit. It was a resistance to the call of the Almighty. Now, however, the winds still blow, the road is still uphill, but the shelter of Christ, the fortress of the Almighty, moves with us as His Spirit directs and guides our steps. The winds I face now are the calls of the evil one as he bids me to return again to the ways of the world. The question we must wrestle with is a question about the longevity of our shelter…temporary vs eternal? I leave you now with these words from Psalm 18:1-19,

“I love You, O Lord, my strength.”
The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer,
My God, my rock, in whom I take refuge;
My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
I call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised,
And I am saved from my enemies.

The cords of death encompassed me,
And the torrents of ungodliness terrified me.
The cords of Sheol surrounded me;
The snares of death confronted me.
In my distress I called upon the Lord,
And cried to my God for help;
He heard my voice out of His temple,
And my cry for help before Him came into His ears.

Then the earth shook and quaked;
And the foundations of the mountains were trembling
And were shaken, because He was angry.
Smoke went up out of His nostrils,
And fire from His mouth devoured;
Coals were kindled by it.
He bowed the heavens also, and came down
With thick darkness under His feet.
He rode upon a cherub and flew;
And He sped upon the wings of the wind.
He made darkness His hiding place, His canopy around Him,
Darkness of waters, thick clouds of the skies.
From the brightness before Him passed His thick clouds,
Hailstones and coals of fire.
The Lord also thundered in the heavens,
And the Most High uttered His voice,
Hailstones and coals of fire.
He sent out His arrows, and scattered them,
And lightning flashes in abundance, and routed them.
Then the channels of water appeared,
And the foundations of the world were laid bare
At Your rebuke, O Lord,
At the blast of the breath of Your nostrils.

He sent from on high, He took me;
He drew me out of many waters.
He delivered me from my strong enemy,
And from those who hated me, for they were too mighty for me.
They confronted me in the day of my calamity,
But the Lord was my stay.
He brought me forth also into a broad place;
He rescued me, because He delighted in me.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

