Still haven’t found…

Good Morning Brothers…

Sometimes when I’m driving home from the latest ballgame, an evening meeting, etc., my mind is tired and I just want to disappear into the music coming out of the radio speakers. Christian music will do that for me, however, it still fits like new clothes. Sometimes…I want to pull on that old torn sweatshirt I wore around in high school. To do that, I have to tune in to the old time rock-n-roll station to see what’s playing. When this song is playing, it feels like a cool glass of water on a hot sunny day. The melancholy memories of seasons past mixes with the realities of the here and now and I find myself falling into the melodies and the lyrics. The song is “I still haven’t found what I am looking for” by U2. If you would like to hear it, click the link:

Lyrics:

I have climbed the highest mountains
I have run through the fields
Only to be with you
Only to be with you

I have run I have crawled
I have scaled these city walls
These city walls
Only to be with you
But I still haven’t found
What I’m looking for
But I still haven’t found
What I’m looking for

Have you ever felt that way? Have you ever felt like try as you might, no matter what you do…something is missing? We may have gone to church every time the door was open, we may have participated in Bible studies and youth programs and retreats and anything we could…but something was missing. What am I doing wrong?  That seems to be the question many Christians ask. What am I doing wrong? When the answer may be in the level of importance we place on the word “do”. Let us no longer try to “do” Christianity, but let us just “be” a Christian.

I have kissed honey lips
Felt the healing in the fingertips
It burned like fire
This burning desire
I have spoke with the tongue of angels
I have held the hand of a devil
It was warm in the night
I was cold as a stone
But I still haven’t found
What I’m looking for
But I still haven’t found
What I’m looking for

Our search has taken us from experience to experience. We have tried the honeyed lips of the world and held the hand of the devil in the process. We have experienced many things that can only be attributed to God Almighty moving in our lives. Sometimes…we still feel detached.

I believe when the Kingdom comes
Then all the colors will bleed into one
Bleed into one
But yes I’m still running.
You broke the bonds
You loosened the chains
You carried the cross
Of my shame
Of my shame
You know I believed it
But I still haven’t found
What I’m looking for
But I still haven’t found
What I’m looking for

We know…that Christ will come again to lead His bride, the Church, down the aisle and up the steps to kneel before the alter…to be joined forever in Holy matrimony. At that time, all of the colors of the Church will bleed into one color…white. We know…that His bride, the Church, is made up of men and women with broken bonds and loosed chains because Christ carried the cross for all of our shame.

You know I believed it

So what are we looking for? What are we missing? Are we looking for a different Christ? Are we looking for a different way? No…I don’t believe so. I think we are looking for the same thing we have always been looking for…home. I believe we are looking for our family, our Father, and our place of residence. The sin of Adam and Eve separated all of mankind from ‘walks in the garden’ intimacy with our Heavenly Father. We have been searching for it ever since.

“Lord in Heaven, I know that You are the way, the truth, and the life…the answer to all things. Lord we desire for You to show us Your handiwork in the cool of the evening, walking through the garden. We look for You all over and catch glimpses here and glimpses there. Lord, we desire to sit, laugh, and play in Your Presence…forever. We still haven’t found what we are looking for Father…because we are looking for You…our home. Come quickly Lord Jesus…”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

