Until it sleeps…

Good Morning Brothers…

Sin.

We all have it, we all fight with it, and often times, we all misunderstand it. Paul says in 2 Corinthians 5:17, Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come.”  This means that sin is the creature that has passed away. Sin is the disease that has been cured by the blood of Christ. We must not think of ourselves as sinful beings striving for righteousness, we must think of sin as an alien sentential creature trying to gain residence within the house that has been cleansed. This song by Metallica captures it perfectly.

(If you are receiving this devotional as an email, you must click over to the website to see the link. I don’t know why that is…it just is.)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8m3HoSKmEIg

Lyrics: Until It Sleeps

Where do I take this pain of mine
I run, but it stays right my side

So tear me open, pour me out
There’s things inside that scream and shout
And the pain still hates me
So hold me, until it sleeps

Even though we try to run from sin, we can’t. Sin follows us wherever we go. Sin screams and shouts accusations like “hypocrite”, “poser”, “fake”, “unworthy” into our consciousness. Make no mistake, sin hates us, sin is out to destroy us, sin wants nothing more than to beat us down and place his icy fingers around our throat.

Just like the curse, just like the stray
You feed it once, and now it stays

So tear me open, but beware
There’s things inside without a care
And the dirt still stains me
So wash me, until I’m clean

Like a stray dog, if we feed sin one time, it moves in to stay. Sin doesn’t care about us, it feeds off of us like a parasite looking to steal life. The physical, emotional, and spiritual reality is one of “stained”. Sin stains God’s intended color into something else. We need the washing of the water with the word found in Ephesians 5:25-27, we need the purifying baptismal waters of regeneration, we need Christ.

It grips you, so hold me
It stains you, so hold me
It hates you, so hold me
It holds you, so hold me

Until it sleeps…

Sin grips us in death’s embrace…we need Jesus Christ to hold us and comfort us against the evil intentions of sin. The more we seek after Jesus, the more clean water flowing in, the more it feels like sin leaves us. But if we return to our vomit like a dog, we realize, sin was just sleeping, just biding his time and watching for the time to strike.

So tell me why you’ve chosen me
Don’t want your grip, don’t want your greed

I’ll tear me open, make you gone
No more can you hurt anyone
And the fear still shakes me
So hold me, until it sleeps

I don’t want it…

The lost of the world can recognize the power of sin within them without even realizing what it is. They can even say the words, “I don’t want it…” but without guidance from our Heavenly Father, through the sacrifice and victory of His Son, by the indwelling of God the Spirit…they may recognize, but they will not overcome. Death’s embrace will drag them under. As followers of the Light, we have to remember that death has lost it’s sting because Christ was victorious over death. Death is dead. Sin has no power over grace. Christ stands victorious over all of the powers and authority’s, both in the heavenly places and on earth. Our job is to answer the plea of the song writer, to address the question, to put the Holy Spirit in play, to be the Light of the world.

For you were formerly darkness, but now you are Light in the Lord; walk as children of Light (for the fruit of the Light consists in all goodness and righteousness and truth), trying to learn what is pleasing to the Lord. Do not participate in the unfruitful deeds of darkness, but instead even expose them; for it is disgraceful even to speak of the things which are done by them in secret. But all things become visible when they are exposed by the light, for everything that becomes visible is light. For this reason it says,

“Awake, sleeper,
And arise from the dead,
And Christ will shine on you.”     Ephesians 5:8-14

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

