Broken Valentine

Good Morning Brothers…

I have 2 daughters and a wonderful wife. Neither of my daughters are married so I feel like they need something from dad on Valentines Day. Not to mention, my youngest daughter has a birthday every year on Valentines Day. Honestly…Valentines Day wears me out and usually costs quite a bit. This year was a little different. Now understand that I have been accused of being the most “un” romantic guy in the room. But my wife loves me and that’s all I care about. If the person labeling me doesn’t do my laundry then their opinion of my romanticism is completely “un” important. This year, the microwave blew up the day before Valentines Day. CHECK…that takes care of my wife’s gift. My eldest daughter called and she needed a new battery for her jeep 2 days before Valentines Day. CHECK…that takes care of my eldest daughter.

Note: If you wait until the absolute last minute to buy Valentine gifts. Life circumstances may take care of the selection for you and it will only take a minute.

My youngest daughter turned 17 and we planned to spend some time together in celebration of Valentines and Birthday. We went ice skating, shoe shopping, and then out to dinner. She was happy…I was happy because she was happy and on our way home I heard this song.

This song made me think of my wife, my marriage, and the scars of life. For those of you unable to CLICK the link, I have some of the lyrics below.

“Broken Together”  by Casting Crowns

What do you think about when you look at me
I know we’re not the fairytale you dreamed we’d be
You wore the veil, you walked the aisle, you took my hand
And we dove into a mystery

How I wish we could go back to simpler times
Before all our scars and all our secrets were in the light
Now on this hallowed ground, we’ve drawn the battle lines
Will we make it through the night

Its going to take much more than promises this time
Only God can change our minds

Maybe you and I were never meant to be complete
Could we just be broken together
If you can bring your shattered dreams and Ill bring mine
Could healing still be spoken and save us
The only way we’ll last forever is broken together

I love my wife. I love my wife because she first loved me. I love my wife because she loves me despite my brokenness. I love my wife because she loves my brokenness into healing. I love my wife because she will not give up the fight for our marriage. I can’t imagine being broken with any one else.

This Valentines Day was a little different. It didn’t involve flowers or chocolate or romantic movies (chick flicks) but it did involve practicality. We needed a new microwave, my daughter needed a car battery, my daughter needed fun time with her father and I needed to remember that God has chosen a wonderful wife for me that is a perfect fit to heal my brokenness through His love.

Thank You Lord…

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

