Load Up

Good Morning Brothers…

I held the door open and tried to coax our lab puppy (named Montana) to jump into the truck. “C’mon girl”, my son said from inside the truck, “C’mon, we are going someplace fun…you will like it. C’mon Montana, load up.”  I tried all of the sounds I could think of to get her to feel comfortable and jump into the back seat with her boy. She stood in the opening, looking at my son and turning back to look at me. Her tail wasn’t tucked between her legs but it wasn’t wagging back and forth either, she was unsure. After about 10 minutes of this I bent down and scooped her up and put her in the back seat with her boy, my son.

I started up the truck and looked in the rear view mirror to see Montana’s head placed firmly in the lap of her boy. A couple miles later I pulled into the pasture to work on some coyote trap stuff and Montana and her boy got out to play…and play they did. I couldn’t help but smile as the two of them ran around chasing rabbits, smelling new smells, splashing through the pond, playing hide and seek among the cedar trees, wrestling and rolling around on the ground and doing everything a boy and his dog love to do. After that, everytime I open the door to the truck and say, “Load up”…she is in and ready to go. She may not know where we are going, but she knows where ever it is, it will be great.

Faith in Jesus is just like this. The Gospel accounts is full of stories of Jesus explaining things beyond human comprehension. Even though the disciples and the crowd do not understand exactly what Jesus is saying, He ends these lessons with words like this from John 6:29, “This is the work of God, that you believe in Him whom He has sent.”  I used to read these exchanges of conversation and shake my head at the unbelief of the listeners. Not any more, I realize that I too would be baffled by what Jesus said. In fact, I can picture myself as a little lab puppy looking up into the truck as my Lord tells me to “Load up” and feeling scared because I don’t know where we are going. The funny thing is, even after I loaded, went, and had the time of my life, the next time I am still skeptical, still fearful. I guess you can say that I don’t even have the faith of a dog. The dog was only fearful once!

Our walk into a deeper faith is really a continual working lesson of trust. “Who do we trust?”, is the question we are asked over and over again. Do we really trust the sovereign Lord of the universe to protect us, to love us, to grow us…or do we only trust the information we can see, hear, taste, and touch right now in the moment? In John 6:35-40 Jesus says, “I am the bread of life; he who comes to Me will not hunger, and he who believes in Me will never thirst. But I said to you that you have seen Me, and yet do not believe. All that the Father gives Me will come to Me, and the one who comes to Me I will certainly not cast out. For I have come down from heaven, not to do My own will, but the will of Him who sent Me. This is the will of Him who sent Me, that of all that He has given Me I lose nothing, but raise it up on the last day. For this is the will of My Father, that everyone who beholds the Son and believes in Him will have eternal life, and I Myself will raise him up on the last day.”

Do we really believe the words of Jesus? Do we really believe that our spiritual hunger and thirst will be forever satiated in Him? Do we really believe that Jesus will not cast us out after we place our faith and trust in Him? Do we really believe that our eternity has already started and we will be raised imperishable on the last day? Do we trust Him?

Our Father is holding open the door of His celestial truck, asking us to “Load Up” so that we can journey with Him to a place of His choosing. His Son is already loaded and coaxing us to get in. We jump in and place our head firmly in the lap of our Lord and look at the face of our Father through the rear view mirror. Once there, we will be able to chase rabbits, smell new smells, splash through the pond, play hide and seek among the cedar trees, wrestle and roll around on the ground and do everything a man and his Lord love to do. I can’t wait to get there, how about you? The life of the Christian is the most exciting life this side of eternity. It is filled with discovery, adventures, and passion. All we need to do is trust Him…and “Load Up”.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Load Up

  1. Kevin says:

    I’m not sure if this is one of your best blogs or just one that hits me where I’m at or maybe both. Great analogy and words. I appreciate your heart and your perseverance to keep writing each week. God is using you!

Leave a Reply

